Torch takes home 13 state awards


Kennedy Torch students earned 13 state awards in the 2014 Spring Newspaper Contest of the Iowa High School Press Association. The Kennedy journalism students received certificates and will also be recognized at the state convention in Fall 2015 in Iowa City. Editorial board members

Nathan Althoff – Column, 2nd place – “One Cougar’s Experience as a Xavier Saint”

Hannah Bruns – News Photo, 3rd Place, – “Dance Photo at Assembly”

Madeline Crist – News Magazine One Page Design, 1st Place – “Celebrating a Legend”

Ethan Divis – Sports Story, Honorable Mention – “Sophomores to Seniors”

Naomi Hofferber – News Photo, 3rd Place – “Homeless Action Campfire”

Naomi Hofferber – Photo Story, 3rd Place – “Homeless Night”

Gabby Olejniczak – News Story, Honorable Mention – “An Early Taste of College”

Morgan Schwab – Column, Honorable Mention – “Health Editorial: Are Tans Worth It?”

Katie Wolfe – Feature Photo, 1st Place – “Boxer”

Katie Wolfe – Sports Photo, 3rd Place – “A Knock Out Choice”

Bailey Zaputil – In-Depth News, 3rd place – “How Much Can People Find About You Online?”

Bailey Zaputil – Feature Photo, 2nd place – “Depression”

Bailey Zaputil –Photo Story, Honorable Mention – “Farm Animals to Reptiles”