Hall of Fame night

Ethan Divis

Tonight’s game against Jefferson is Hall of Fame night where Kennedy will induct 12 people, 10 athletes and two boosters, into the hall of fame. The 10 athletes that are being inducted are Leesa and Sarah Cadwallader, Laurie Hepker, Meghan Sievertsen, Susan Hanson, Louie Ervin, Chad Hartke, Ben Lamaak, Randy Moore and Nick Morio.

Leesa and Sarah Cadwallader won state two years in a row in doubles in 2005 and 2006. They also contributed to Kennedy winning the state team championship in 2007. Both of them went on to play tennis at Creighton.

Lauire Hepker, 1979, was a four sport athlete in her time here at Kennedy. She ran her way to a third place finish in the 800 meter dash in the state indoor meet. She went on to run track at Central.

Meghan Sievertsen won three straight diving state championships from 2002-04 and went on to dive at the University of Iowa.

Susan Hanson run her way to a top 15 finish in 1997 in the state cross country meet. She also ran her way to a sixth place finish in both the Drake relays and the state meet in the 800 meter dash. She went on to play three sports at Luther.

Louie Ervin was named to the second team all-state team in 1990 and went on to play football at Iowa State.

Chad Harke was second team all-state in football and first team all-state in basketball. He went on to play basketball at Minnesota State.

Ben Lamaak, 2006, was a four sport athlete in his time here at Kennedy. Lamaak was first team all-state in both Football and Basketball. He also holds the schools shot-put record. Lamaak went on to play football at Iowa State.

In 1981 Randy Moore helped Kennedy to a state title in swimming. He also won the 400 meter hurdles at both the state track meet and at Drake Relays.

Nick Morio played both Baseball and Football here at Kennedy in 1995. He was named to the second team all-state in baseball.

The Hall of Fame ceremony will be held between the girls/boys double header tonight.